Chocolate Banana Pancakes With a Vanilla Custard Sauce

I’ve been looking to step up my sauce/glaze game. This is always tough because it’s the one weakness with my pancakes and the glaze can make or break the whole experience. My past couple of glazes haven’t gone very well so there was some apprehension when I went to tackle this custard sauce.

Why custard? Well, I was thinking about what type of pancakes to make. We had several bananas that were getting past the ripe stage and I needed to do something with them. These are the perfect kind for pancakes. It had been a while since I made some type of chocolate pancakes so that seemed like a great pair. What type of sauce would go well with Chocolate banana pancakes? A cherry sauce? Some other fruit variation? More chocolate? Wasn’t feeling any of those options.

Then I thought of one of my favorite donuts. The Boston Creme donut. And there’s where the custard came in. The next step was to figure out how to make a sauce. Thanks, Google! I found this easy recipe. I didn’t have a vanilla bean so I used 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and added it at the end.​


The custard was tough. I made it the night before and I had to resist the urge to not bring it to a boil at certain points. And when I finished, it seemed to thin so I just let it cool and refrigerated until this morning. After an evening in the refrigerator, it was the perfect consistency.

For the pancakes, I used my Huddy’s Hotcakes recipe and added 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa to the dry mix. I then added 2 mashed bananas to the combined ingredients. Pretty simple.

After a morning 5-mile trail run, these pancakes hit the spot. Add some bacon (see below) and a couple of cups of coffee and I am properly refueled to enjoy my daughter’s soccer game and get ready for the Indianapolis Colts game. It’s on locally here in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

