The NFL and Human Resources

Nope. Not going to do it. Just throwing some clickbait out there. No, I’m not going to spend this post and talk about all the things the NFL can learn about great HR. I’m going to spend this post talking about my favorite sport and my favorite time of the year. Yes, the NFL kicks off, tonight, and I couldn’t be happier. Well, if the Chiefs beat the Patriots then I could be just a wee bit more happy.

I love the NFL season. If you have spent one minute with me, you would know my love for the NFL, and more specifically, the Indianapolis Colts. Being an Indy native, I have been a fan ever since the Mayflower trucks rolled into town in 1984. My mom bought me an Indianapolis Colts cut-off shirt and the rest was history. Yes, cut-off shirts were a thing. Through many awful seasons and many equally awesome seasons, my love for the Colts has never wavered. And by the looks of this year’s team, it could teeter more toward the awful. That’s ok. I can’t wait.

As I was taking a walk with my 13-year-old daughter, I was expressing how excited I was about the start of the season. She looks at me funny and says, “Dad, why do you get so fired up about football? It’s just a game!” I turned to her and said, “That’s right. It is just a game.” It’s a 3-hour game where I get to forget about reality, just for a bit. A time that I don’t have to think about my job and all the good things and not-so-good things that happen. A time to have some fun and cheer and second guess and justify certain play calls and pace and jump up and down and just enjoy the game.

I love the drama leading up to each week. Breaking down the match ups of the next Colts’ opponent. Spending all week, and the whole game, texting my friends about each play. Trying to find a venue or a buddy’s Sunday Ticket pass to watch the Colts when they’re not shown in Chicago. I could go on and on.

Yes, I’m sure I will find plenty of things to write about these next 4 months with all of the parallels of the league and HR. Hell, I’ll probably find some link between pancakes and punters. But not in this post. About a month ago, I said I would write about NFL players and employability, but I will punt that one to another time. 

Today, I’m going to count down the hours until kick-off. Waiting for Al Michaels and Cris Collinsworth and all the pregame festivities. And I’ll be cheering for a Chiefs victory. Because I’m a Colts fan.

3 thoughts on “The NFL and Human Resources

  1. I love football season! I’d also love it if the Chiefs beat the Patriots; it will make tomorrow much more pleasant at work. You see, I live in Kansas City…

    However, I am and will always be a Packer fan first, because while I live in KC now, I grew up in Green Bay. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

