Cheers to You on Labor Day

Today is Labor Day in the United States . It’s a holiday to honor and recognize the American worker. It is celebrated on the first Monday of September and is seen as the unofficial last weekend of summer. Most will have the day off and celebrate with cookouts, gathering with friends and family, attending kid’s travel sports games, or just doing nothing. Others will go to work at the local coffee shop, retail store, restaurant, or gym. 

Yesterday I went out for a 6-mile recovery run. It was a beautiful afternoon and I was a little sore and a little slow from the previous day’s run and previous evening’s cocktails with friends. Hey, it’s the Labor Day weekend so I cheated a bit. I took some time to reflect on this past year. I reflected on all of the hard work and accomplishments I’ve had thus far. I thought about all of the amazing things my team and co-workers have done. Their efforts to go above and beyond their job description to help others.

I found myself on the same trail I stumbled upon on January 1st of this year. The same trail that inspired my goal to run 1000 miles for 2017. I thought about all of the work I’ve done to be ahead of pace. This week, I will hit 800 miles for the year. I have made changes to my lifestyle in order to do this and I don’t regret one bit of it. And I’m taking this day to rest. Well, Monday’s are my rest days so this works out.

This is the one day to recognize all of the hard work that is done each day to keep this country going. All of the blood, sweat, at fears that go into trying to capture that American Dream. And many will spend this day working more because they have to make ends meet. Many will spend the day working because they think they need to work harder than the next bro so they can get ahead or get that Bentley.

So on this day to honor the American worker. Take some time to reflect on all the work you have already done. Acknowledge someone who is putting in the time to work, today, to make your life special. As you’re enjoying that coffee, thank your barista. Tell your gas station attendant you appreciate them. 

Resist the urge to get a jump on the week and fire off some emails to those important clients. Hopefully they are enjoying the day, too, and your email only stands a chance of getting buried in all the other hustler’s doing the same.

Fire up the grill, pop a cold beverage, and lift a glass to your fellow worker. Take it away, Alabama.

Leave a Reply

