Lemon Ricotta Pancakes w/ Blackberry Sauce

So which comes first: the sauce or the pancakes? When I’m thinking of a pancake recipe, I typically come up with the pancake and then think about the sauce, syrup, or glaze to go with it. For this Sunday’s creation, the sauce came first. I was looking in the refrigerator and noticed a couple of cartons of blackberries. I knew they would go to waste, this week, so I decided to make a sauce with them. And what goes well with a blackberry sauce? Lemon ricotta pancakes, of course.

Thank the gods for Google. It is the best recipe book on the planet. A simple “blackberry sauce” search gave me a myriad of options. I landed on this recipe from “Heather’s Dish.” It’s pretty straight forward and even I could follow it. I used lemon juice instead of lime juice in the recipe. For the sauce, I would not have put it back on the heat after adding the starch mixture. It got a little too thick for my liking and is more of a jam than a sauce.

For the pancakes, I tweaked Huddy’s Hotcakes just a bit. I added 1/4 cup of lemon juice, zest of a whole lemon, and 3/4 cup of ricotta to the wet ingredients. Instead of 2 cups of buttermilk, I used a little more than a cup. I also ran out of vegetable oil, so this batch did not have it. And didn’t need it.

The overall combo was pretty good, but I’ll admit, on my second helping, I used the blueberry syrup and that was better. I have some leftover blackberry sauce and that will be better used on some toast in the future.

For those who ask, I use a Black & Decker griddle, as seen above, for my pancakes. You can grab one at any retailer like Target, Walmart, or Bed, Bath & Beyond for under $25. I set it at 250 degrees and coat it with a little cooking spray. I will plug it in, spray it down, and then add the pancakes right away. I don’t let it preheat and it does the trick.

 

Leave a Reply

