What Motivates You?

Last Friday, I wrote a tongue-in-cheek post about the habits of a mildly successful HR guy. I wrote this after seeing a tweet from my friend and fantastic radio-host, Amy Guth. She tweeted, “How about we don’t create another list of ‘habits of successful entrepreneurs’ who are all white, male, young and well-funded.” After a nice little chuckle and a retweet, I thought more about this. We are drawn to those who we perceive to be successful in hopes of motivating ourselves. Articles about the successful provide a bit of motivation to get the day started. Whether it’s an article, a catchy motivational meme, or a good book, motivation can come from many sources.

This got me thinking about what motivates me. I had to think a lot about this question. What gets me out of bed to run at least 4 times per week? What keeps me going to the same line of work for the past 20 years? What are my drivers that make me want to continue to evolve my career and eventually build something of my own? Employers are constantly looking for the magic solutions to keep their employees motivated and engaged.

I like to be surrounded by people who love what they do. No matter the logo on the building or the hobby they pursue, I like when people talk about how much they love their job and work environment. That motivates me. That makes me want to find out more about where they work and what they do.

I work with people who love to talk about our company. Sure, I hear from a few who are not too crazy about it, but for the most part, our employees have a genuine passion and excitement about our company and the type of work we do. I love to hear their stories about the work they do. Hear them talk about their weekends or the other activities that they are passionate about. I like to hear about what motivates them. That type of excitement gets me out of bed on a Monday morning.

It’s why I love running. Ever talk to a runner? Yes, I know. Of course you know you’re talking to a runner, because they tell you. And they don’t shut up about it! I’m guilty of this. But I’ve never talked to a grumpy runner. Even when they are injured, they are still talking positively about it. I read about running, I follow running-related people on social media. Yes, those running memes give me a little extra motivation to get out there and run a few extra miles.

So what motivates you? Is it a certain song or playlist? Is it a certain Instagram account or Facebook group that always has that nugget of wisdom? Is it family or friends? Each of us has our own individual source of motivation. What may work for some, may not make any sense for others. That’s ok. As long it’s healthy and makes someone happy, it works for me.

Posted in HR

2 thoughts on “What Motivates You?

  1. Great post for a Monday! I just took up biking, as I’m training for a ride from Pittsburgh to D.C. It’s all I’ve been thinking about lately – last week I went on a 25 mile ride and felt like I coulda done 25 more easy. I’m motivated to merely *finish* this 310 mile ride, so I keep going.
    I guess my passion to leave this place better than I found it motivates me. This ride will be raising money for operation second chance, a charity that helps veterans. These brave women and men sacrifice so much for our freedoms that I feel obligated to help them in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome, Michael! Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to follow your journey. I’m sure there’s a little Eric B. in those headphones for some added motivation, too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

