Strawberries and Cream Pancakes

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted some pancake creations. Between taking my oldest daughter to camp and running a triathlon, I haven’t had an open Sunday to write or make some pancakes. It’s good to have an open Sunday to be able to spend some time in the kitchen and put something good on the table for my tribe.

After last Sunday’s triathlon, I purposely took 1 week off from running. I needed to get a little rest. It was perfect because I had some work travel and it was a very busy, productive week. I managed to get a yoga class in, but kept the Asics parked. While I took them on my work trip, I decided to keep them at bay to get some good rest and recovery.

As I had taken a few weekends off of pancakes and writing, I also missed out on my running group. I had some solo runs and a few bike rides, but not with the group. So I got back in the routine and joined the crew for a nice 8+ mile trail run and it felt great. Perfect temperatures and great company.

After a long run, my appetite was hearty and I was looking forward to a big batch of pancakes. With a carton full of strawberries about to go to waste, I decided to go with some strawberry pancakes. And what goes well with strawberries? Yep, a nice bowl of cream.

For the pancakes, I used the standard Huddy’s Hotcakes recipe and added about a cup of diced strawberries. The cream was pretty simple. Add the following 4 ingredients and blend with a hand mixer:

  • 4oz of softened cream cheese (I set this out before I headed out for my run.)
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons of milk

Top off the pancakes with the cream and garnish with some extra strawberries. These hit the spot and were oh-so-good. A side of bacon and some black coffee to cut the sweetness made this the perfect pancake breakfast. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

