3 Habits of a Mildly Successful HR Guy

You know you love them. The articles of your favorite business magazines that list the habits of every successful business person. If you incorporate these 5 things, you, too, can be super successful and win the day! What these articles rarely explain is the definition of success. Most assume it’s based on money. Add these habits into your daily routine and watch the money roll in. Of course, everyone has their own definition of success. Being in HR, money has never been my measuring stick. Us revenue-sucking HR types don’t make all the big bucks. We defer them to the real drivers of the business.

As I read these articles, I always look at how they would play out in my day-to-day life. A life filled with a wife, 2 kids, and a dog. Is waking up at 5am, taking a 6 minute cold shower, writing 753 words, spending 22 minutes of mindfulness, and eating a brain-power banana all before I turn on my phone something that’s realistic to me? Will these habits make me a more successful HR guy?

They sound really great. If they work for you, go for it. If they don’t work for you, I offer you “John Hudson’s 3 Habits of a Mildly Successful HR Guy.”

Wake up early to exercise

I wake up at 5:30am to get 30-45 minutes of running. Not because the successful people tell me to, but because this is the only time I’ll be able get a run in before the day takes over. Unscheduled employee relations issues, unplanned meetings, and post-work family activities dominate my 8am-9pm time frame. 5:30am is my only option.

Take a cold shower

I take a luke warm shower in the morning. Not because of the 13 benefits that all successful people gain from them, but because, while I was running at 5:30am, 3 other people got in the shower before me and used all the hot water.

Mindfulness

I take the quiet car on my commuter train to work and spend 29 minutes of peace not because of the stress-reducing benefits of meditation, but because it is the only peace and quiet I will get all day. (And take the quiet car home for additional mindfulness to get a head start on tomorrow!)

The life of an HR guy can get pretty hectic. While I have a little fun at the expense of these habit lists, there are great benefits to the practices. So I’ve tried to incorporate a few them into my daily routine. And if I can add another 3 or 4 habits of the successful people, I can go from a mildly successful to wildly successful HR guy.

 

 

One thought on “3 Habits of a Mildly Successful HR Guy

Leave a Reply

