Monday Mix-ups

“Your flight has been canceled.” That text alert greeted me as I came down to the kitchen to grab my phone and jump into the cab awaiting me at 5:45am, this morning. Monday’s, or any days for that matter, have a way of throwing you some curve balls.

I was scheduled to be in St. Louis to visit one of my markets and to deliver some training. I don’t get to travel to my regional markets as much as I would like so when a trip gets derailed like this, it’s disappointing. And to find out about the last-minute cancellation as I’m getting ready to walk out the door just adds to that disappointment. I’ve had that happen before and there’s not much you can do about it.

When your job depends on the reliance of air travel or any type of commuting, there is always the possibility that something can go wrong. When planning important meetings, you always plan for the possibility of cancellations or delays. Is there a technological alternative? Can the presentation happen via web conference or telephone? If so, you should have considered this before booking travel, but that’s for another post. Whether it’s the airlines, public transportation, or just plain traffic, there are many things that are beyond your control.

You have a couple of options. Stomp your feet, curse the gods, and tell the airlines to jump. Or, accept those things beyond your control, grab that bushel of lemons, and start making some lemonade. Stuff happens. Mother Nature loves to have her fun. And most rational people will understand the circumstances. I know this all too well living in the Midwest. Summertime air travel is so unpredictable.

I have a lot of travel coming up in the next few weeks so maybe this is a blessing. I’ll take it as one and use the time to my advantage. Cheers to a great Monday and cheers to you and your week. I hope it has a better start than mine!

Posted in HR

Leave a Reply

