Rainout at Work

I had every intention of running, this morning. It’s Thursday and it’s part of my run schedule. Alarm was set and everything ready to go. About 30 minutes before my alarm went off, a long rumbling roar of thunder shook the house. That was followed by a frightened dog panting and pacing in our room. And then the rain came. Now I’m not opposed to running in the rain, and, as a matter of fact, I really enjoy it. But this was not the rain I would recommend running in as there was plenty of lightning. So my plans were washed out.

With a packed work schedule, today, running during the day is not an option. An evening work event nullifies a night run. Now I’m left with a couple of options to get my minimum 20 miles per week. 1.) Run on Friday, my regularly scheduled rest day, or b.) Don’t run on Friday and run several more miles on my long run on Saturday. I could just not worry about it and not hit my weekly goal, but I’m too close to let up now. So I have some decisions and rearranging to do.

Have you ever had a rainout at work? (Maybe this is common if you work outdoors or play professional baseball.) I’m not talking about a literal rainout, but one of those days when an important meeting gets canceled due to unforeseen circumstances.

You’ve spent weeks preparing for the big presentation to the leadership team. All your ducks are in a row, you’ve picked out your lucky suit, the shoes are shined up, and you have rehearsed all evening. You wake up early, go through your morning routine to prepare you like the rockstar you are, and then the email comes through. The meeting is canceled.

At first, you’re disappointed. All of this hard work has gone down the drain. And then you’re mad. “Do they not value and respect my time enough?” But maybe there was a little relief. You’ve been burning the candle at both ends, lately. You wished you had just a little more time to gather some more research to make this presentation rock solid. You fell a little behind on some other deliverables because you had been so focused on this one presentation.

A rainout every once in a while can be good. When working with senior leaders and their triple-booked meetings, rainouts can become the norm. While extremely frustrating, it’s just how things go. But don’t let this change how you prepare. Use the open time to work on other things.

Some leaders are notorious for cancelling, and if you assume they will, and you don’t prepare, they will surprise you and show up. Sometimes you work with leaders like the legendary Crash Davis. They know how to get a rainout.

Leave a Reply

