Peanut Butter Banana “Elvis” Pancakes 

Sometimes, a recipe doesn’t go the way you want it to. I had plans to make a different kind of pancakes, but after realizing I didn’t have the ingredients I thought I had, I had to call an audible.

Bananas tend to be one of my go-to ingredients when in a pinch. Especially when the bananas are a little too ripe. They either end up being banana bread or banana muffins that my kids make or they make it into my pancakes.

I didn’t want to just do regular banana pancakes and adding chocolate chips is always a fall back plan. Instead, I went with about a 1/3 cup of peanut butter and added two mashed bananas to the Huddy’s Hotcakes batter. Just like that, we have “Elvis” pancakes. For reference, Elvis supposedly loved a fried peanut butter and banana sandwich.

Of course, pancakes aren’t complete without a great topping. While I could have phoned it in with some maple syrup, chocolate sauce would taste so much better. And since I didn’t have squat in my fridge, I found this chocolate fudge sauce. 30 seconds in the microwave and there you go.

Many times, you find yourself without a few key ingredients like I did, this morning, here are a couple of tips when needed.

  • Buttermilk: I didn’t have any. But I had milk and vinegar. Whisk 2 tablespoons of vinegar into 2 cups of milk and let it sit for about 10 mins.
  • If you are looking for something to add, applesauce is a great one. Put in a teaspoon or two of cinnamon and you are all set.
  • Any combo of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice can do wonders. Snickerdoodle pancakes are easy to make!

Hope you enjoy this week’s pancakes. I’m always looking for ideas. What are your go-to ingredients when you need to spice things up?

 

Leave a Reply

