Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Life is all about changes and adjustments. At least when it comes to Huddy’s Hotcakes, it is. And such is the process for putting together the weekly pancake creations.

Case in point. I get many requests and recipes sent to me throughout the week. Emails, texts, Instagram DMs, Facebook posts, and snail mail. Well, not really snail mail, but that would be fun! All giving me ideas for different variations of pancakes. Please, keep them coming. I’m always looking for new recipes.

This week, a friend sent a recipe from the Buzzfeed Tasty Instagram account for pineapple upside down pancakes. I took one look at the video and my mouth started watering. I was so excited to give that recipe a shot. So I took it to my tasting committee. Unfortunately, I got out-voted 3-1. There are no hot pineapple fans in this household. Seriously? Well, that one will have to be put on hold. I’ll sneak it in on one weekend when they are least expecting it.

Taking suggestions from the crowd, my youngest requested lemon poppy-seed. Since it had been a while since I’ve made these, and I love the citrus flavors in the summer, I went with her suggestion. And I’m glad I did!

I didn’t have a chance to get to the store, yesterday evening, so I was lucky to have everything for this batch. Besides the normal ingredients for Huddy’s Hotcakes, I just needed some lemon juice, a lemon, and some poppy-seed.

To the dry ingredients, I added 2 tablespoons of poppy-seed and lemon zest from half a lemon. (If you really like some lemon zing, add some more. I only had half a lemon.)

In the wet ingredients, I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice then combined the wet and the dry and mix.

The girls were disappointed I didn’t have a glaze. I could make any variation of pancakes, add a powdered sugar glaze, and they would think the pancakes were the best in the world. Instead, I added a bit of powdered sugar and smothered them in my in my favorite blueberry syrup. Delicious.

It feels like I haven’t whipped up a good batch of pancakes in a long time. This one was one of my better ones. Very simple to make and a crowd pleaser for sure!

Posted in HR

Leave a Reply

