2nd Quarter Goal Update

The 2nd quarter comes to a close, today. Since Friday’s are my rest days, my quarter closed, yesterday. To date, for 2017, I’ve run 583 miles. Half way through the year and I’m more than half way to my goal of running 1000 miles for the year. Here are some of my observations:

  1. My running is now a habit. It’s every part of my routine along with going to work, eating breakfast, or sleeping.
  2. I have settled into a nice pattern of running 5 days per week. My rest days are typically Mondays and Fridays.
  3. I don’t always get to run 5 days per week, but I have only missed my goal of 20 miles per week 3 times, this year.
  4. Due to some crazy travel and the Indy 500, I projected May to be a light month. I was correct. 85 miles. The least amount of monthly miles of the 6 months, so far.
  5. My alcohol consumption continues to decrease, with a few exceptions. See #4. Since I’m not talking to my doctor, I can honestly say I am averaging 4-5 drinks per week, typically on the eve of my rest days.
  6. This number used to be more. A lot more. And this is an average. I’m not swearing off the sauce by any means. I still love my IPAs and Pinots. It’s just that I’m making smarter decisions during the week and when I’m traveling for business.
  7. I signed up for a super sprint triathlon. I’m not counting the miles on the bike toward this goal. I don’t plan to put too many miles on the bike, anyways.
  8. I started running in the mornings, before work, during the week. I love being back on the morning routine. With the summer months, daylight is abundant at 5:30am. I love getting up this early.
  9. I am burning through shoes quicker. I’m on to my second pair. I assume I’ll go through another pair or two by the end of the year. Sorry, dear!
  10. I’m going to plan to take a week off for a little rest, after my triathlon. Need to let the body rest for a few days and really prepare for my half marathon in November.
  11. My diet hasn’t changed much. I still eat M&Ms by the handful and I put back a 3lb bag of gummy bears per week. Chipotle and pizza are my close friends. Pancakes aren’t getting any lighter.
  12. The waistline has gotten a little smaller. That was never the intent. Just a byproduct of eliminating alcohol and increasing activity.
  13. I have run more miles at this point in 2017 than I did in all of 2016. I ran 560 miles in 2016.
  14. This goal has not been as consuming of my life as I thought it would be. It hasn’t interfered, too much, with my family activities or caused many disruptions. My wife may disagree. See #8.
  15. My sleep continues to improve. I’m getting more rest and I’m more alert during the day. I’m sure much of this has to do with #5-6.
  16. My overall state of mind continues to improve. I still have my moments where I’m impatient or overreact, but those are reducing. I’m able to be more measured and thoughtful in my decision-making. I’m able to take a step back, take a breath, and then move. Again, still a work in progress, but I can tell a difference.
  17. The support of friends and family has been great. By sharing this goal with others, (hey, I’m a runner. I have to talk about running! Just ask a runner if they’re a runner and they’ll never shut up about it!) My running group keeps me accountable.

While this isn’t a comprehensive list, the goal has led to another running related goal. I’m going to try to break 1:40:00 for a half marathon, in November.

Now, a little history. For years, I tried to break this. I obsessed about it and was never able to do it. The best I ran was a 1:41:00. And I was devastated. After some reflection, though, I realized a couple of things. One, I was not enjoying my races like I should have been. Two, I was not doing the preparation needed to make this time. I thought I was.
And why this renewed interest in the time? Peer pressure. Plain and simple. Oh, and ego.

When searching for a half to do in the fall, a good college friend texted me and asked if I’d join him in a half. He has run many half marathons in the past and claims he hasn’t run in years and wants to get back into it. I thought this would be a great way to be able to spend a couple of hours with him to catch up while running the race. Then this text exchange happened:


Challenge accepted. We have always had a somewhat healthy competitive relationship dating back almost 30 years. I know this guy can run 1:40 in his sleep. And, like I said, I have some work to do on the speed training. I’m going to do it right, this time, so I’m working with a coach, my brother, to get me there. (More on my brother in a later post.)

He sent me the speed workout plan and I got started on some of it, this week. It’s a little intimidating, but I’m really looking forward to putting in the work to see if we can do this.

What will the 3rd quarter bring? Heat. While summers in Chicago are fantastic, I’m not a huge fan of running in the heat. Early morning runs will help, but not much. I’ll also have a triathlon to add to my accomplishments and I’ll be entering a new age group for race results.

I’ll also be working with another heavy travel schedule, both for work and for vacation. But after having to deal with that the first half of the year, I’m confident it won’t be a problem this quarter.

It’s going to be a fun 3rd quarter!

One thought on “2nd Quarter Goal Update

Leave a Reply

