Take a New Path

This morning, I decided to take a new path on my run. For the past couple of months, I have been running in the mornings. With a little different morning routine and with more daylight, the morning runs have been a nice change in my running routine. It also requires me to be very disciplined with my time. I’m up at 5:30am and I run for 4-5 miles on each run, during the week. Because my time is limited, I typically take the same route every time. I know the distance, how long it will take me, and I don’t have to think about it. And that can get boring.

I have been in my neighborhood for 4 years. It’s a great layout with several neighborhoods and running routes. We live very close to a forest preserve and I take full advantage of that on my long weekend runs. During the week, I find myself taking some of the same routes. And while I still love to be able to get out for a run, the same route gets a little monotonous.

This morning was a nice change. I still ran the same 5 mile distance, but I explored different parts or our neighborhood that I don’t always get to see.

I saw different trees, plants, and flowers. I noticed some style of homes and architecture I’d really never paid attention to. I saw different runners and walkers than the usual group I see on the other routes. And this was a nice little lift to the morning.

Sometimes your work routine can get boring. Maybe it’s a short-term rut or maybe you have been stuck for a while. You take the same way to work, park in the same spot, do the same routine tasks, and take the same way home. This may add some comfort to you in an otherwise chaotic life. Or it may give you a feeling of just going through the motions. If that’s the case, you have some options.

Take a new path. Literally. Take a new route to work. Explore a few different roads or highways. Who cares if it takes you a little longer. Leave earlier. If you walk to work, go down another road. Take the long way home.

At work, look for other opportunities to get involved. Find a new project to get involved. Move your desk. If you sit in the same place everyday, ask your boss if you can shake it up. Even if it’s just a row away or a few cubes over. Eat at a different place for lunch. Go visit another floor of your office space. Take your laptop and work in a coffee shop for a day.

Your work doesn’t have to be the same boring job, everyday. Sure the tasks may be the same, but you can control the environment and choose how you want to show up.

If you like your company and the people you work with and are just a little stuck in the routine, take a new path to work. You may find that extra kick you need to have a great day.

Leave a Reply

