Some Skills Never Go Away

I’m running a triathlon at the end of July. It’s considered a “super sprint” and the distances are not IronMan-worthy, but they are enough to get my heart pumping. I don’t plan to deviate from my running goal and the only swimming I will do will be on race morning. I need to get used to the transition from bike to running and I started that training, yesterday. 

My plan is to invest minimal time and money into this race. I’m already maximizing my time for running and I don’t need to add any more. Instead of running for a full hour, I decided to split the time between the bike and the Asics just to get a feel of the transition from the saddle to the shoes. 

The race distances for the bike and run are 10 miles and 5k, respectively. It’s been so long since I’ve ridden a bike with any amount of effort so I didn’t remember what it’s like to ride for any significant distance. The plan was to ride for about 5 miles and then run for about 3. So I strapped on the helmet and hit the bike path. 

You know the phrase, “It’s like riding a bike?” Well, the experience was just that. I got to 3 miles and felt great so I decided to go a little more. 6 miles, no problem. Since I’ve never been one to ease into things, I decided to make it an even 10. Mission accomplished. 

I used to ride my bike everywhere, as a kid. From training wheels to high school, I was always on my bike. I even rode a bit in college and tackled a few hills in Monroe County, Indiana. And then I put the bike away. But the muscle memory was there. The balance, the mechanics, and the pedaling all came back to me and I didn’t even have to think about it. 

There are certain skills that we can always get right back into no matter how long we’ve been away. We spend a lot of time texting and typing, but we don’t forget how to write. Life-long friendships can rekindle in an instant, no matter how long it’s been. This happens to me all the time with my college friends. We can go years without seeing each other and jump right back into where we left off. Like riding a bike. 

Whether it’s been 4 years or 24, certain skills don’t go away. There may be a little rust to knock off, but the basics are still there. Did play an instrument years ago, but have been avoiding it because you think you’ve forgotten how to play? Pick up that guitar or sit down at the piano. It’s just like riding a bike. 

Leave a Reply

