Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes – Father’s Day Edition

Today is Father’s Day. This is the 13th year that I have been able to claim this day as a father. I’m very lucky to have 2 smart, funny, brave and courageous daughters and I’m just trying not to screw that up!

For this morning’s pancakes, I was thinking of a recipe that captured what this day means to me. The girls first offered to make me pancakes. Sorry, ladies, I like this too much. I was wracking my brain to come up with some spectacular recipe. Kind of like that super awesome coffee mug I made as a kid for my dad when I was in kindergarten. But then I thought about how Huddy’s Hotcakes got started.

My Sunday pancake routine all started with a me making silly pancakes for my daughters. A box of pancake mix, some chocolate chips, and some over-ripe bananas. The rest is pancake history.

So, I raise the bottle of maple syrup to all of the dads doing what they can to make a difference in the lives of their kids. Whether it’s pancakes or parties; baseball or ballet, a father’s presence is the best present to give and receive on this Father’s Day.

 

Leave a Reply

