Birthday Pancake Brunch

My oldest daughter will be turning 13, this week, and she decided to have a pancake brunch for 10 of her friends. Of course, I had to make the pancakes. She chose the types of pancakes she wanted and asked for Funfetti and cinnamon roll pancakes. 

After a long weekend in Indianapolis for the 500, I had to leave at 5am, this morning, to get back. I’m dragging just a bit and feel a nap coming on. 

The pancakes were a little bit of a challenge for me as it’s all about the timing. Let’s just say I still have some work to do in that department. 

For the Funfetti pancakes, I added 1 cup of Funfetti cake mix and 1 cup of flour and then used the rest of my regular buttermilk pancake recipe. 

For the cinnamon roll pancakes, I used my basic Huddy’s Hotcakes recipe. For the cinnamon filling, I used the recipe from the No. 2 Pencil blog. 


For the glaze, I combined 2 cups of powdered sugar, 4 tablespoons of heavy cream and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. Delicious. 

Overall, the morning was a success. I had to steal a couple of pictures before the pancakes were eaten. I had zero leftovers. 

Leave a Reply

