J.P. Morgan Corporate Challenge – Chicago

I’ll be running my 6th J.P. Morgan Corporate Challenge, this evening. This is a unique race as all of the participants are full-time employees of companies in Chicago. This is supposed to be a competition with a scoring system made up of your company’s top times, but I’ve always run it for the fun. There will be over 15,0000 runners and walkers and the race starts at 7pm. Proceeds go to local charities.

This year, our company will have about 70 runners and we will also have a hospitality tent around Buckingham Fountain for pre- and post-race festivities. This particular event is a great way for companies to support wellness initiatives and incorporate a little team building and camaraderie.

I really enjoy this whole event because it unofficially kicks off my Memorial Day weekend. At least I get the weekend started with a little dose of healthy activity because the rest of the weekend is not the most healthy for my body! Lots of bad food, several adult beverages, and very little sleep. But I will be walking everywhere. 

So, if you’re in downtown Chicago, this evening, avoid the Grant Park area if you’re driving! But come on down and support all of the runners and cheer them on. I’ll be the guy in the blue Slalom race shirt. 

Leave a Reply

