Friday Five – 5th of May Edition

Ah, Cinco de Mayo. The Mexican holiday observed to commemorate the Mexican army’s defeat of the French in 1862. Of course, most Americans will falsely refer to this day as the celebration of Mexican Independence Day. (You’ll have to wait until September 16th for that).

We will roll down to our favorite Irish pub, put on a sombrero, grab a bucket of Corona’s, and enjoy the $1 taco happy hour special. We’ll then yuck it up with our buddies and wonder how long it’s going to take to build that wall on the Mexican border.

I’m curious. For American holidays like the 4th of July, do other countries grab their cowboy hats and favorite white tank tops, fire up the grill, grab a 6 pack of Budweiser and blow stuff up? ‘merica.

I digress. Now, on to this week’s Friday Five

How are you doing on a scale of 1-10? (1 = can’t find a wall hard enough to hit with your head; 10 = rocking and rolling) 7. I spent most of this week still recovering from a bug that hit me like a freight train, last Friday. After being bedridden all day Friday and Saturday, I thought I was fine so I decided to go for a long run. That probably wasn’t my best decision. I spent most of this week feeling a little off. But I think I’m back to normal. I think. 

2. What are the couple of big things you’ll be tackling next week? A big week of training and professional development. I will be getting my DISC certification to be able to deliver and facilitate this training. Yes, I know there are some skeptics out there. Give me a call and I’ll talk your ear off about how I’m such a high “I.” 

3. Any good ‘wins’ from last week you feel proud of – no matter how big or small? Maybe it was the sickness and me not being able to think coherently, but I signed up for my first triathlon. I’m not too sure what I was thinking, but this is something I’ve always wanted to attempt. I’m fearful of the swim portion and the thought of swimming in open water has always given me pause. Luckily, this race takes place in a pool and I only have to swim 300 yards. I can do that, right? I really don’t plan to have this race derail any progress I’m making toward my goal to run 1000 miles in 2017. I’m actually planning on winging this race a bit. Not too smart, but I’ve never been accused of being a genius. Stay tuned!

4. Do you need any support / help with anything you expect to tackle next week? I really need some good fiction to read. Who has something they recommend? I’m up for anything and something that may take me out of my usual fiction comfort zone of David Baldacci or John Grisham page turner. Whatcha got? 

5. How’s your bandwidth? (1 being I don’t have time to eat and 10 being I have nothing to do)? 3. I always have time to eat. 

What are some things you are working on and how can I help you?

Leave a Reply

