Vanilla Cinnamon Buttermilk Pancakes

This morning was supposed to be a plain ol’ Huddy’s Hotcakes buttermilk pancakes and I was going to talk about going back to basics in the midst of some chaotic and crazy weeks. The batter was done, the bacon was in the oven*, (yes, bake your bacon, it’s awesome), and the table was set. But as it is in this household, the team called an audible.

These pancakes are way too simple. I just added a teaspoon of cinnamon and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla because I already had a teaspoon of vanilla in my original batter. Mixed it all up and there you have it.

You can top these off with any choice of syrup or glaze. I went with my go-to blueberry syrup. I think a cream cheese glaze would be perfect with this batch, too. As I’ve found in a majority of my recipes, the glaze or the topping makes every bit of the pancake.

That’s what I love about pancakes. You can make last second changes or add a dash or two of some other ingredients and not have to start over or ruin a batch.

*For the bacon, it’s simple. Preheat the oven to 375. Take a cookie sheet and line it with aluminum foil. Put a cooling rack on the cookie sheet and lightly coat it with cooking spray. Then, put the strips of bacon on the rack and bake for about 17-20 minutes, depending on your desired crispy-ness. This process gets a consistently cooked bacon and all of the grease drips to the pan. With the foil, clean up is a breeze.

Leave a Reply

