Gluten-Free Blueberry Banana Pancakes

Typically, I would not make any type of pancakes for any specific dietary needs, but this was no typical occasion. My parents came to visit and my mom rocks the gluten-free diet. So, instead of me whipping up a big batch of regular pancakes while she sits back and eats a banana and some gluten-free toast, I decided to take Huddy’s Hotcakes into the gluten-free space.

In order to do this, I had to do a little prep. Well, ok, I googled “Gluten-free pancakes.” I really didn’t have to change much from my original recipe. I just had to replace my regular flour with gluten-free flour and a little bit of xanthan gum. I had no clue what xanthan gum was, but it’s much like corn starch and just a thickening agent. Luckily, the packaging of the flour provided a guideline to show how much xanthan gum to add per every cup of flour. It only showed examples for cookies, cakes, and muffins and breads, so I went with the recommendation of the muffins and breads. That was a mistake. I added 1 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum to my 2 cups of flour and I would recommend about 3/4 to 1 tsp. My mixture was very thick and I ended up adding a little more milk to thin it out.

I also added 2 smashed bananas and about a cup of blueberries to the batter. I topped the pancakes with my favorite blueberry syrup, too.

Overall, these were pretty good! My mom said they had a great texture and weren’t grainy like a lot of the other gluten-free products she’s had. Of course, she is my mom and would probably tell me they were great, regardless. But these pancakes passed ultimate test. My biggest critics, my kids, ate a second helping so I think I did something right.

I did get a little taste of what it must be like living with some dietary restrictions. Every time I’m with my mom, I have to be aware of what we order and what she can eat. Luckily, many restaurants and grocery stores offer a variety of gluten-free options, but you have to do your homework ahead of time. And, I sent the remaining package of gluten-free flour home with my mom.

Leave a Reply

