Friday Five

One of the most underrated leadership actions I’ve been a part of since my time with my current company is a little thing called the “Friday Five.” Our CHRO started this with our entire HR team as an easy way to stay connected and to make sure we are getting all of the support we need on a weekly basis. Now, this is not a status report nor is it meant to be micro-managing or overbearing in any way. It’s a great way for him to see what we are working on, how we are doing, and where he can provide help and support along the way.

So, here’s how it goes. Every Friday, he sends out the “Friday Five” to the team. It always gives a weekly recap, a “quote of the week,” some great articles or tidbits of information either related or not so related to work, and other fun stuff. He then asks for a reply to him and a copy to your manager, if you don’t report directly to him, with the answers to the following questions:

1. How are you doing on a scale of 1-10? (1 = can’t find a wall hard enough to hit with your head; 10 = rocking and rolling)

2. What are the couple of big things you’ll be tackling next week?

3. Any good ‘wins’ from last week you feel proud of – no matter how big or small?

4. Do you need any support / help from me with anything you expect to tackle next week?

5. How’s your bandwidth? (1 being I don’t have time to eat and 10 being I have nothing to do)?

The idea is not to spend more than 5-10 minutes on this and it is totally voluntary. I typically complete mine at the end of the day or on my train commute home. The best thing about it is that he provides his answers to these questions to share with the whole team. This provides some great insight into his day-to-day and it shows some vulnerability and openness on his part.

I have recommended this to many of the teams that I support and I always get an overwhelming response to how helpful and easy it is. You don’t need a fancy system to reach out to your employees to ask them how they are doing and how you can help. I’d recommend you give it a try either with your team or with the teams you support.

In the “Friday Five” spirit, I thought I’d try something here on the blog. Each Friday, (well, don’t hold me to this because I may miss one) I’m going to share my Friday Five for the week. No, not the one I send to my boss because that would be boring. I’m going to share how my week went and some observations I have. I’ll be asking for your support, at times, and I want to offer my support to you. Here goes:

1. How are you doing on a scale of 1-10? (1 = can’t find a wall hard enough to hit with your head; 10 = rocking and rolling) 4. This was one the toughest weeks, personally and professionally, for me. Will share more on Monday’s post.

2. What are the couple of big things you’ll be tackling next week? I get to be with my HR colleagues for some training! We are all spread out and it will be so great to see them. I may try to make some gluten free pancakes for my mom. We’ll see. 

3. Any good ‘wins’ from last week you feel proud of – no matter how big or small? I hit 200 running miles for the year. 1/5 of the way to my goal! For work, I don’t really classify them as “wins,” but I may have learned more this week than any other. 

4. Do you need any support / help from me with anything you expect to tackle next week? I’ll have more information on this question and an ask from you on Monday.

5. How’s your bandwidth? (1 being I don’t have time to eat and 10 being I have nothing to do)? 3. My work and my life may not be totally balancing, but whose does? Ther are a few  good things happening with both and I’m really excited about them. 

We are all dealing with things and it’s good to be able to share with someone and get some support and to be able to offer some in return. 

 

 

Posted in HR

8 thoughts on “Friday Five

Leave a Reply

