Oreo Pancakes

This is my first attempt at actually documenting my pancakes and providing the recipe. I’ve always taken a picture and posted on my Instagram account. (Be sure to check that out.) So here it goes.

These pancakes were inspired and adapted from the site, Spicy Southern Kitchen. I stumbled upon Christin’s site a couple of years ago when I was looking for some fun recipes for pancakes. Make sure you check out her site. It’s fantastic and she has so many excellent recipes and ideas!

The Oreo pancakes are a fan favorite for my daughters. For this particular morning, my oldest had one of her friends sleep over and this was a special request. I had all of the ingredients, except for the Oreo’s, so, on the way home from my 8 mile run, I stopped at the store to grab the family size.

For the actual recipe, I used my basic buttermilk recipe, and then added 3 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa to the dry ingredients. Once I combined the wet and the dry, I added about a 1/2 cup of crushed Oreos.

For the “stuffing,” I followed the Spicy Southern Kitchen’s recipe.

A little tip when you’re putting it all together. Let the pancakes cool before adding the whipped cream, unless you like a melted milky cream.

A great thing about all of my pancakes is that I usually have about 8 pancakes left over. They are perfect for breakfasts throughout the week for the kids. I also freeze them and they are perfect after about 30 seconds in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

